Home N-13 News Forums Help Search
RegisterForgot password?
How to add image to post necklacesdiscou
Known bugs - 4.0.3 necklacesdiscou

Latest N-13 News 4.0.3

What is N-13 News?
Where can I get help?
Known bugs

Forums Help & Support Displaying & Integrating News Help Page
Alankeys
Posted on 20 Dec 2009, 09:09:56

Access: Member
Total Posts: 107
Joined: 2009-11-28


Displaying & Integrating News Help Page

The only suggestion is to use

<?php
include 'path/to/news/index.php';
#example 'news/index.php';
?>



But the inclination is to create RSS feeds for each category and One main RSS feed for all new news.

In this way there is a main news reel and then newsreels for each category.



************


Is it wrong to create RSS feeds for articles in the way that I have described ?

Should it be done in some way using

<?php
include 'path/to/news/index.php';
#example 'news/index.php';
?>


If there is then it is not described in Displaying & Integrating News Help Page
If the RSS method should be adopted it would be nice to add this to Displaying & Integrating News Help Page

#1307
Chris
Posted on 22 Dec 2009, 02:04:47

Access: Admin
Total Posts: 1395
Joined: 2006-05-19

When displaying news you can specify which categories you'd like to have shown like so

Code:
<?php
$cat
[] = "cat1";
$cat[] = "cat2";
include 
'news/index.php';
?>


The above include will only show news articles that are assigned to the categories Cat1 & Cat2.

RSS Feeds work in exactly the same way except you don't need to edit any code, you simply select which categories you'd like to use via the RSS options.
#1334
Alankeys
Posted on 22 Dec 2009, 08:37:02

Access: Member
Total Posts: 107
Joined: 2009-11-28



That code renders the article itself.
An RSS feed placed on page renders summary info and hyperlink.

Both having entirely different purposes and results.


As I see it.

To get headlines with hyperlinks - use RSS feeds in includes.
To render a story on a page - use index.php




re index.php variables, is there a list of allowable variables ?
Ive been looking to limit number to one article.
#1335
Chris
Posted on 22 Dec 2009, 18:50:42

Access: Admin
Total Posts: 1395
Joined: 2006-05-19

The code does indeed render the news article but you control how the news article gets displayed. If you want to display only the headlines you can do so by editing the templates. The script came with a readme.html file, here is the online copy of that file

http://network-13.com/news/readme.htm

you create a new template which only shows the headlines, no stories, then to use that template you specify its name before your include like so

Code:
<?php
$template 
= 'headlines';
include 
'news/index.php';
?>
#1340
Alankeys
Posted on 24 Dec 2009, 00:16:00

Access: Member
Total Posts: 107
Joined: 2009-11-28

Chris

Ive still been unable to implement your script.

<?php
$template = "headlines";
$cat[] = "Director_Dealings";
include './news/index.php';
?>

$cat[] is that all i need to enter ?

you pointed me to readme file. Im very disappointed with that. It offered no further guidance on how to implement includes, feeds and templates. There was no point in sending me to that.

does readmore work ?
so far i havent been able to make a link to surround the headline title.


At this rate, without proper installation notes we will be exchanging notes till next Christmas.

Im disappointed with installation notes and template system which depends on user having previous experience, understanding of your template system and inherent realisation of how the <?php include './news/index.php'; ?> can be customised to produce every thing that is required.
.
#1355
Last edited by Alankeys at 2009-12-24 00:22:07 Reason:
Network-13.com © 2013