Home N-13 News Forums Help Search
RegisterForgot password?
How to add image to post necklacesdiscou
Known bugs - 4.0.3 necklacesdiscou

Latest N-13 News 4.0.3

What is N-13 News?
Where can I get help?
Known bugs

Forums Help & Support Use current page layout with Friendly URL's, how?
Hhawk
Posted on 01 Mar 2010, 09:54:32

Access: Member
Total Posts: 94
Joined: 2010-03-01

Okay, I managed to get Friendly URL's working without problems.
Now it opens up a new title-name-of-news-post.html without any CSS or HTML.

I want to have it look the same as my other website's pages, where do I change this?
#1967
Chris
Posted on 01 Mar 2010, 11:55:44

Access: Admin
Total Posts: 1395
Joined: 2006-05-19

This is likely due to where you have placed the .htaccess file. Try moving it from the news directory to your main public_html directory, then edit it slightly.

By default it looks like this

Code:
RewriteEngine On
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteRule .* /news/index.php [L]


Change it to

Code:
RewriteEngine On
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteRule .* /index.php [L]


Assuming index.php is the page that you've included the news script into.

That should do the trick. You might also need to change the paths to your css files for example you might have them referenced like so

Code:
<link href="v9style.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />


Change this by adding a / in front like so

Code:
<link href="/v9style.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />
#1971
Hhawk
Posted on 01 Mar 2010, 13:55:12

Access: Member
Total Posts: 94
Joined: 2010-03-01

Thanks man, after reading I discovered I am stupid. I used the /news/index.php, afterwards I changed it to index.php, however it should be (in my case) nieuws2.php.

It seems to work, however I have some problems with images and hyperlinks. Everywhere it changes the URL to a related-to friendly URL.

E.g. in my menu it has a link:

Code:
<a href="filmpjes.php">Filmpjes</a>


but cause of the friendly URL's it changes that line into this:

Code:
news/20/0/filmpjes.php


Or something similar to that.

Any idea on how to fix this? Maybe I overlooked something?
#1972
Chris
Posted on 01 Mar 2010, 20:56:03

Access: Admin
Total Posts: 1395
Joined: 2006-05-19

Can you show me an example of the script altering your hyperlinks like this?
#1975
Hhawk
Posted on 02 Mar 2010, 08:13:19

Access: Member
Total Posts: 94
Joined: 2010-03-01

News page
When you click on a news story (Lees verder >>)
You get forwarded to a page with a Friendly URL
The image doesn't work, but probably that is easy to fix, however when you click a link in the top menu (Home, Nieuws, etc.) it doesn't work and also is changed to a Friendly URL.

The same goes for all the links in the right sidebar / menu (under "Dossiers").

Any way to fix this?
#1977
Chris
Posted on 02 Mar 2010, 13:58:45

Access: Admin
Total Posts: 1395
Joined: 2006-05-19

The image not showing is just a relative path problem. Change the image src from this

Code:
<img width="120" height="90" border="1" alt="Oplaadpunt" src="images/opladen.jpg">


to

Code:
<img width="120" height="90" border="1" alt="Oplaadpunt" src="/images/opladen.jpg">


I can't see any problems with the URLs you mentioned at the top or the side bar.
#1978
Hhawk
Posted on 02 Mar 2010, 14:04:28

Access: Member
Total Posts: 94
Joined: 2010-03-01

Well it shows the links incorrectly.

For example:

Nieuws link normally looks like this:
http://www.deelektrischeauto.nl/nieuws.php

and now looks like this:
http://www.deelektrischeauto.nl/news/22/0/nieuws.php

Another example:

Elektrische Auto's normally looks like this:
http://www.deelektrischeauto.nl/overzicht.php

And now looks like this:
http://www.deelektrischeauto.nl/news/22/0/overzicht.php


This is also the same for the sidebar / side menu, for example:

"De voor- en nadelen"-link normally looks like this:
http://www.deelektrischeauto.nl/voorennadelen.php

And now looks like this:
http://www.deelektrischeauto.nl/news/22/0/voorennadelen.php


This is all happening when someone opens a news post link, like here: http://www.deelektrischeauto.nl/news/22/0/oplaadpunten.php

Please advice.
#1979
Hhawk
Posted on 02 Mar 2010, 14:09:40

Access: Member
Total Posts: 94
Joined: 2010-03-01

Nevermind fixed it, by adding a "/" in front of the links.
#1980
Chris
Posted on 02 Mar 2010, 14:11:00

Access: Admin
Total Posts: 1395
Joined: 2006-05-19

The top menu links look fine to me though I can see the problem with the side bar links. Can you show me the code you're using for the sidebar?

EDIT

Never mind that, it's the same problem as the image not showing, add a forward slash in front of your urls so change this

Code:
<a href="stimulans.php">Kabinet stimuleert elektrisch rijden</a>


to

Code:
<a href="/stimulans.php">Kabinet stimuleert elektrisch rijden</a>
#1981
Last edited by Chris at 2010-03-02 14:12:09 Reason:
Hhawk
Posted on 02 Mar 2010, 14:16:29

Access: Member
Total Posts: 94
Joined: 2010-03-01

Thanks for the reply, I figured it out as well. ;)

Anyways thanks. :)
#1982
Network-13.com © 2013