Home N-13 News Forums Help Search
RegisterForgot password?
How to add image to post necklacesdiscou
Known bugs - 4.0.3 necklacesdiscou

Latest N-13 News 4.0.3

What is N-13 News?
Where can I get help?
Known bugs

Forums How To RSS ticker to display News RSS
Rayc
Posted on 02 Mar 2011, 22:42:11

Access: Member
Total Posts: 74
Joined: 2010-06-13

I know this isn't part of the script, but I'm looking for a way to display the RSS generated by N-13 News elsewhere on the site, or on a related site.

Ideally, a scrolling/rotating type of ticker. I generally prefer not to use a remotely hosted script like RSS-to-Javascript, as you are then at the mercy of whether their site is up, down, or out of business.

Any suggestions out there?
#3296
Chris
Posted on 02 Mar 2011, 23:05:10

Access: Admin
Total Posts: 1395
Joined: 2006-05-19

I've never actually used it but I've heard good things about it, http://pipes.yahoo.com/pipes/ - Allows you to create content feeds from other sites then display them on your own.
#3297
Rayc
Posted on 03 Mar 2011, 12:35:35

Access: Member
Total Posts: 74
Joined: 2010-06-13

I took a look, and yes it is kind of cool in a tweak-head kind of way. Combining and filtering multiple feeds, etc.

What I need is something simple. All I want to do is display my own RSS as generated by N-13 News. No piping, filtering, merging required. Technically, it doesn't even originate on another site.

(Hmmm... I smell feature request... :grin: )

I'll keep Yahoo Pipes in mind, though.

Still hoping for a couple of suggestions from anyone out there... :flowers:
#3300
Chris
Posted on 03 Mar 2011, 17:13:23

Access: Admin
Total Posts: 1395
Joined: 2006-05-19

I don't think an RSS feed is what you want. RSS feeds are designed to allow users to get content outside of the site the content is coming from, that's what RSS readers are for.

What I think you're describing is a small scrolling box that displays the latest articles, which is pretty much what the system already does minus the scrolling part. There are many ways to create a scrolling box, from using the outdated <marquee> tag to using a more complex javascript solution.
#3303
Rayc
Posted on 03 Mar 2011, 19:48:55

Access: Member
Total Posts: 74
Joined: 2010-06-13

Yes, you're right. I just thought making use of the RSS feed that the script creates would be a way to accomplish this.

To highjack my own thread somewhat :pirate:, would it be possible to have a "headline display" show news headlines from a different domain?

Always looking at ways to subvert the system...:devil:
#3309
Chris
Posted on 03 Mar 2011, 20:28:19

Access: Admin
Total Posts: 1395
Joined: 2006-05-19

What you could do is, on the other domain that you want to get news headlines from, create a new file, call it headlines.php, inside it do a normal news include to display some headlines.

On the domain where you want the articles to display use the following code

Code:
<?php
// URL of the page you want to get
$curl = "http://network-13.com/headlines.php";
$ch = curl_init();
curl_setopt($ch, CURLOPT_URL, $curl);
curl_setopt($ch, CURLOPT_RETURNTRANSFER, 1);

// store returned data to the $output variable
$output = curl_exec($ch);
curl_close($ch);    

echo 
$output;
?>


This will fetch the headlines from the other domain then display them.
#3310
Rayc
Posted on 04 Mar 2011, 14:52:12

Access: Member
Total Posts: 74
Joined: 2010-06-13

Chris, you're too much. Cranking out little snippets of code on the whim of total strangers. :happy:

I just tried this and it worked a treat! :hug:

Now if only it could scroll.... :innocent:
#3314
Chris
Posted on 05 Mar 2011, 06:32:56

Access: Admin
Total Posts: 1395
Joined: 2006-05-19

Code:
<marquee style="display: block; height: 300px; width: 400px; background-color: #EEEEEE" direction="up">Stuff here</marquee> 


This is the absolute easiest way to do it but you shouldn't really do this way because the <marquee> tag is depreciated and won't be guaranteed to work in newer browsers.
#3319
Network-13.com © 2013