Home N-13 News Forums Help Search
RegisterForgot password?
How to add image to post necklacesdiscou
Known bugs - 4.0.3 necklacesdiscou

Latest N-13 News 4.0.3

What is N-13 News?
Where can I get help?
Known bugs

Forums Help & Support I don't see comment, login form etc
1 2 3 4
Heihachi
Posted on 11 Jan 2010, 14:07:44

Access: Member
Total Posts: 23
Joined: 2010-01-11

Hey there! I have succesfully installed this script, admin panel works fine (Server type Windows IIS7; Register_GLOBALS ON)
http://love-energy.net/index.php?id=1
Check this at the bottom of page, i see there only news posted, where's form to post comment etc?

And by the way, if i want to post news on separate pages for example www.love-energy.net/news.php (category - NEWS) and www.love-energy.net/interesting-news.php (catergor - Interesting)
how to make this work?
#1483
Last edited by Heihachi at 2010-01-11 14:13:07 Reason:
Chris
Posted on 11 Jan 2010, 14:11:41

Access: Admin
Total Posts: 1395
Joined: 2006-05-19

Because you're using IIS it means you won't be able to use friendly URLs unfortunately. They require the use of Apache's .htaccess files which don't work in IIS. I'm still trying to find a solution to this.

To get the comments form to show you click on the " 0 Comments" link, but you'll need to disable friendly URLs first for that to work.

Edit: Also, I would recommend turning off register_globals, as this could cause security problems.

And to have news displayed on different pages using different categories you specify the category before the include code like so.

love-energy.net/news.php
Code:
<?php
$cat
[] = "news";
include 
'news/index.php';
?>



love-energy.net/interesting-news.php
Code:
<?php
$cat
[] = "interesting";
include 
'news/index.php';
?>
#1484
Last edited by Chris at 2010-01-11 14:16:43 Reason:
Heihachi
Posted on 11 Jan 2010, 14:14:49

Access: Member
Total Posts: 23
Joined: 2010-01-11

Quote:
Because you're using IIS it means you won't be able to use friendly URLs unfortunately. They require the use of Apache's .htaccess files which don't work in IIS. I'm still trying to find a solution to this.

To get the comments form to show you click on the " 0 Comments" link, but you'll need to disable friendly URLs first for that to work.

Edit: Also, I would recommend turning off register_globals, as this could cause security problems.

I've disabled friendly URL, but still when i press on "0 Comments" page keep just refreshing, nothing happens, no form etc
#1485
Chris
Posted on 11 Jan 2010, 14:17:13

Access: Admin
Total Posts: 1395
Joined: 2006-05-19

Try disabling register globals.
#1486
Heihachi
Posted on 11 Jan 2010, 14:19:06

Access: Member
Total Posts: 23
Joined: 2010-01-11

Quote:
Try disabling register globals.
Thanks, mate, for fast answers! My hosting provider can't disable register_globals. You think this might cause a problem with comments?

And can i see a DEMO page with news and comments. (Not Admin panel)
#1487
Last edited by Heihachi at 2010-01-11 14:20:04 Reason:
Chris
Posted on 11 Jan 2010, 14:23:29

Access: Admin
Total Posts: 1395
Joined: 2006-05-19

Register globals would indeed cause the script not to work correctly. Depending on how your host is setup you might be able to disable it my creating a new php.ini file and placing it inside your main www directory and the news directory, inside it put this code

Code:
register_globals = OFF


This will only work though if your host allows it. Register globals is soon to be removed from the next version of php so if this doesn't work I would recommend finding another host which allows you to turn it off or has it off by default.
#1488
Heihachi
Posted on 11 Jan 2010, 14:31:58

Access: Member
Total Posts: 23
Joined: 2010-01-11

Quote:
Register globals would indeed cause the script not to work correctly. Depending on how your host is setup you might be able to disable it my creating a new php.ini file and placing it inside your main www directory and the news directory, inside it put this code

Code:
register_globals = OFF


This will only work though if your host allows it. Register globals is soon to be removed from the next version of php so if this doesn't work I would recommend finding another host which allows you to turn it off or has it off by default.

Its not allowed! Can u show me a page, with this script on?
#1489
Heihachi
Posted on 11 Jan 2010, 14:37:08

Access: Member
Total Posts: 23
Joined: 2010-01-11

Quote:
Quote:
Register globals would indeed cause the script not to work correctly. Depending on how your host is setup you might be able to disable it my creating a new php.ini file and placing it inside your main www directory and the news directory, inside it put this code

Code:
register_globals = OFF


This will only work though if your host allows it. Register globals is soon to be removed from the next version of php so if this doesn't work I would recommend finding another host which allows you to turn it off or has it off by default.

Its not allowed! Can u show me a page, with this script on?

i can change server type on UNIX/APACHE (Php_mod), but does worth it? What should i write in .htaccess in order to turn register_globals off
#1490
Chris
Posted on 11 Jan 2010, 14:44:08

Access: Admin
Total Posts: 1395
Joined: 2006-05-19

Before you change your server to unix/apache I would first consult your host to ask if it's possible to disable register_globals as they may have disabled it there too.
#1491
Heihachi
Posted on 11 Jan 2010, 14:45:36

Access: Member
Total Posts: 23
Joined: 2010-01-11

Quote:
Before you change your server to unix/apache I would first consult your host to ask if it's possible to disable register_globals as they may have disabled it there too.
They told me - thats its possible, with .htaccess file. I heard That UNIX/Apache is a lot better for php site?
#1492
1 2 3 4
Network-13.com © 2013